New Mitch turner short story: the plot

A STRANGE WOMAN ASKS TO SIT DOWN…

Criminal defense attorney Mitch Turner has just sat down to dinner at a fine restaurant after a long day in court when a beautiful woman approaches and asks to join him. Thinking she is interested in a date, he agrees.

He quickly learns she has approached for free legal advice.

He tries to put her off by suggesting she call his office for an appointment, but she is adamant that she requires immediate legal help. Just when Mitch Turner thinks he has a handle on what she needs, he realizes he has unwillingly stumbled into a thorny situation with potential problems that could haunt him throughout his career.

Mitch must think fast to resolve the situation. How will he do it?

If you like legal thrillers, the short story is for you. Mitch Turner is a fast-talking lawyer who looks at the world differently than most and takes risks where others might not. Fans of John Grisham and Scott Turow will enjoy this story. Pick up your copy today!

Sneak Peek:

“I’m about to be in a bit of legal trouble.” A long pause. “Potentially.”

“You’re planning to commit a crime,” I said flatly.

“I just want advice on my situation,” she said, dodging my question.

My eyebrows rose. I was no stranger to having people hit me up for free legal advice, but it had never before happened in quite this fashion.

“I do offer a free initial consultation. How about you swing by my office on Monday so we can talk?”

“No.” Her voice was stern, and she spoke with such heat that I wondered if she was about to lose her temper. The moment passed, and she spoke in a subdued tone. “I need your advice tonight.”

I studied the woman, trying to piece together what I already knew about her. She did not appear crazy, but her words made little sense. If something did not make sense, there was usually something I was not seeing. It was possible she was off her rocker; but more likely, there was a logical explanation for her behavior.

But I was tired. It had been a long day. I could face a situation like this on Monday morning. Not last thing Friday night.

I shrugged apologetically. “I’m on my off hours.” I dropped my business card on the table in front of her. “Call my office Monday morning. We’ll get something set up.”

“You don’t understand.” She leaned in. “It can’t wait. I’m planning to kill somebody tonight.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s